Research Guides

CALIFORNIA LEGAL FORMS

This pathfinder focuses on law library and web resources relating to forms used in a legal context. This includes court, legal, and business forms. Forms books are not in an area by themselves, but grouped with others by subject.

Law Library Catalog
To locate books and other materials held at the LA Law Library on a particular topic, you will need to do a subject or keyword search in the LA Law Library Online Catalog.

Remember, many books contain forms, so one of the best searches is to use a word in your subject area and forms, e.g. “California employment and forms.”

Sample subject searches include:

  • Forms (law) – United States

  • Pleading – California – Forms

  • Civil Procedure – California – Forms

  • Commercial Law – California – Forms

Primary Law
The format and use of many court forms are dictated by court rules. The library has these rules in a print format as well as available electronically.  All of these sources are located in the Reference area.

LA Superior Court Rules
California Court of Appeals Rules
California District Court Local Rules
California Bankruptcy Court Local Rules

Secondary Sources

California Forms of Pleading and Practice Annotated

KB194 .A18C

Rutter’s Civil Procedure Before Trial Forms

KB200 .P6 A18 R62 c.2 Calif

West’s California code forms, with practice commentaries. Civil procedure

KB218 .W53ci 2006

Miller & Starr California Real Estate Forms

KB167 .M59b 2005 Calif

California Legal Forms, Transaction Guide

KB218 .C125

American Jurisprudence Legal Forms

KB218 .A51 1971

 

Electronic Databases
Access to these databases is available in the Library’s Reading Room only.

Forms Workflow

Database containing state and federal forms. California’s court, legal, and business forms are interactive and fillable.

LexisNexis

Contains the full-text of Lexis published California form books. Under California tab, see “Search Forms and Drafting Instructions.”

Westlaw

Contains the full-text of West published California form books. Form books are searchable by natural or keyword searching.

CEB OnLaw

Contains the full-text of CEB published form books.  In this database, there is a search box specifically for forms.

 

Internet Resources

California Judicial Council Forms
Los Angeles Superior Court Local Forms
California Central District Forms
California Central District Bankruptcy Forms
Ninth Circuit Forms